24-Hour Read-a-Thon

Click the picture to go to the Read-a-Thon website

Less than a week from now, another round of Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-Thon is beginning, and I intend to take part this year. I participated two years ago, and it was great fun. Last year, I couldn’t be in it because I simply wasn’t at home on the 22nd of October (rather, on a plane to the UK to attend some of the most amazing rock shows in my life… but that isn’t the point), but this year, I’m looking forward to it, a lot.

A 24-Hour Read-a-Thon is exactly what it sounds like – you read books, for 24 hours straight, or as long as you can manage. You don’t sit glued to the book for all of those hours on end, of course – you’re allowed to take any breaks you want, take a nap, or even say ‘screw it, I’m going to sleep’. The purpose of the event is fun and reading – not torture! It’s rather fun to do online, because you can use breaks to blog/tweet about what you’ve just read, interact with other readers and take part in mini-challenges that may even win you prizes. The most important part of the Read-A-Thon for me personally, however, was the chance to sit myself down and get to some of the books I’d wanted to read for a long time, but just couldn’t get around to. One of my brightest impressions from that reading session was The Catcher in the Rye, which I’d read once before then, but had it pass completely over my head – unlike two years ago, when it blew my mind (there’s more of my read-a-thon impressions at the now abandoned blog Over This Way).

So, if you’ve got a free day next Saturday, why don’t you join in? If anyone’s participating, drop me a comment. On this blog, I’ll be making a pre-Read-a-thon post, and then a big recap, so as not to spam the subscribers with bi/tri-hourly updates. But I’ll be tweeting regular progress reports to keep it live. Oh, and another thing. The Read-a-Thon kicks off at noon GMT on Saturday, but I’ll be jumping in half a day early, somewhere around GMT midnight, since I’d like to try the 24-hour haul, but can’t afford to stay awake the night before Sunday.

You can find out more about the Read-A-Thon at its website. Just click the picture above this post, or go here to read the FAQ. Have fun, everyone!

3 Comments

Filed under Read-A-Thon

3 responses to “24-Hour Read-a-Thon

  1. Bookish Hobbit

    I have decided to join. I think it will be fun!

  2. Rosie

    obviously i am in

Leave a Reply

