Read-A-Thon – Book List

So, it’s just over twelve hours until the Read-a-Thon starts off, and even less for me, because I’ll be jumping in sooner. About time I had a brief run-down of books planned for this year’s session.

It seems that seven is becoming my lucky number, because that’s the number of books I ended up with, again, without aiming to. Here’s the deal:
1) Book of Poisons (Discover Deadly Doses To Kill Off Characters). As a writer who has been schooled into obsessive canon compliance during many hundreds of fanfiction pages and then found that original fiction is no different, except that the ‘canon’ is much more extensive… how could I pass up on this? I’ve owned this book for a while (a gift from someone who knows me well enough to give such), but somehow, never got around to reading it for leisure and didn’t need it for research yet. What better time to do so?
(A notebook will be kept on hand to make notes of particularly interesting poisons, likely resulting in ever so slightly disturbing writing and/or blogging at a later date);

2) Bram Stoker – Dracula’s Guest and Other Short Stories. This is not THE Dracula novel, but rather, some extra stories from the man whose names is among the first to come to mind when vampires are concerned, as someone who did a lot to bring the vampires into the light and onto a pedestal, before they were sent to walk the gutter in a persistent cloud of sparkle. Still, fads come and go, but the classics remain.

3) Madeleine L’Engle – A Swiftly Tilting Planet. I have read this one a long time ago, and am ashamed to say that the only thing I remember about it was liking it. About time I refreshed the story in my head before returning the book to its rightful owner.

4) Philip Pullman – The Ruby in the Smoke. It has been lying around with the rest of the Sally Lockhart series for a while now. Somehow, I never got along with His Dark Materials, so perhaps this series will work better for me. Mention of mystery in the description is encouraging as I remember my Nancy Drew days.

5) William Peter Blatty – The Exorcist. Talk about the change in tone. I don’t necessarily intend to read the books in this order, but I couldn’t keep this one until the end of the list, just to make sure it’s still light outside when I read it. Based on what I’ve heard, it’s a reasonable decision.

6) Rober Salvatore – The Lone Drow. Even though recently I’ve moved from being deeply into fantasy to somewhat of a sci-fi fan, getting some background on Drizzt Do’Urden is simply a must for an appreciative player of Baldur’s Gate, whom I also happen to be.

7) Philip K. Dick – A Scanner Darkly. Chances are, if I had Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? on hand, I would’ve grabbed that one first, but I’m sure I’m going to enjoy Scanner a lot. The story is already known to me from a film/animation from a few years ago starring Keanu Reeves, so the read-through should allow me to enjoy the story on a new level.

And there we have it. Some of these books are realistically complet-able within the scope of the Read-A-Thon, some less so, some I don’t necessarily intend to read cover to cover in one go (particularly non-fiction or short story collection). But I imagine it will be fun.

I’ll probably do most of real-time reporting via twitter, but I can’t guarantee that some particularly inspired yet hastily worded blurb won’t find its way to the blog, as well as something required by a mini-challenge. Bear with me, gentle subscribers, this event only happens once a year.

And now, the much-needed sleep. I’ll see you tomorrow – whether you want it or not!

4 Comments

Filed under Read-A-Thon

4 responses to “Read-A-Thon – Book List

  1. Looks like an awesome assortment of reads. I like the mix of genres and that you have a re-read too. The Bram Stoker book and the Exorcist are great choices for this time of year too. Have fun!

    • Thank you! The short stories I’ve read in the Bram Stoker book get mixed reviews from me, but I do recommend the one titled The Judge’s House. Good atmospheric creepy, and even though you can pretty much predict what’s going to happen, the suspense is still there.

  2. Rosie

    Scanner Darkly I approves
    Exorcist – would love to hear how you like it

  3. Teh Bat

    Three points –

    1) A most awesome sounding list 😀
    2) I had no idea that The Exorcist was a book first. I am an uncultured youth who needs a slap, and needs to get that book herself.
    3) SQUEE for possible ideas found in the poison book! I shalls be looking forwards to that *claps*

    Xoxoxoxo

Leave a Reply

