Read-A-Thon – Final

So, we’ve reached the finish line. We reached it a few hours ago, as a matter of fact, but I had to pick myself up and go on another race as soon as I crossed that one, so now I’m back on a short-lived reprieve and finally able to post the wrap-up, beginning with the Ending Meme:

1. Which hour was most daunting for you?
Surprisingly enough, I found most hours during the actual read-a-thon fairly easy to handle. True, I got some sleep in the middle, but it was sheer fatigue, not being tired from reading. It wasn’t until a few hours after the event that I started crashing and roaming the streets gently moaning ‘braaaaaaaains….’

2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?
I would recommend The Book Of Poisons to anyone who enjoys reading and/or writing crime mysteries, tales of alchemy, Harry Potter fanfiction with a focus on potion-making… and just about anyone. It’s a fascinating collection of information on poisons, poisoning, as well as an account of a day in a tox lab.

3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?
Once again, I shall be utterly useless and say that I loved everything to pieces exactly the way it was.

4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?
The cheerleaders were amazing! Every time I’d get notification of a comment, a huge smile would crawl on my face, and as I would read the actual comment, it would grow even bigger and float off, Cheshire-Cat style.

5. How many books did you read?
I completed one, plus several short stories in a volume, and put a start on a total of seven. Two of which I’m now bringing with me on a train trip to finish up.

6. What were the names of the books you read?
– the already-mentioned The Book of Poisons (read 52 pages);
– A Swiftly Tilting Planet by Madeleine L’Engle (260 pages, complete);
– The Ruby in the Smoke by Philip Pullman (140 pages);
– Dracula’s Guest and Other Short Stories by Bram Stoker (74 pages);
– The Exorcist by William P. Blatty (24 pages);
– A Scanner Darkly by Philip K. Dick, (68 pages);
– and The Lone Drow by Robert Salvatore (38 pages).

7. Which book did you enjoy most?
I’d say it was The Ruby in the Smoke, because I didn’t expect to find it that interesting, and was taken by surprise. This is the first one I’ll be finishing now that the ‘thon is over.

8. Which did you enjoy least?
The Exorcist. I may finish it at a later date, if ever. During the 24 pages I have read, I got somewhat bored, not to mention annoyed at the author for a certain narration manner that failed to create immersion.

10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?
Very likely! I think I’ll stay a Reader, but a very eager one. I hope there’s one in April, and if there is, I’m definitely in!

General Final Tally
Books taken on: seven;
Books started: seven;
Pages read: 656 (of which 604 fiction, 52 non-fiction);
Books I’ve finished: one;
Books I’ll definitely be finishing: five;
Books I may be finishing: one.

Once again, thank you, everyone who read alongside, everyone who respected my time and let me read in peace (and one piece), everyone who visited my blog and/or commented on my posts, everyone on the organisational crew, every single cheerleader, each and every holder of mini-challengers, and my patient subscribers who survived the recent spam attack from this blog! And congratulations to Jemma for being the winner of a lucky draw AND a mini-challenge!

I now leave you my love, and run to catch a train.

1 Comment

Filed under Read-A-Thon

One response to “Read-A-Thon – Final

  1. Hehehe thank you very much ^^ And well done on making it! I kinda failed a bit and crashed at about 4am then woke up again at 8. But other than that it was a complete success!

Leave a Reply

