Read-A-Thon – Mid-Event Survey

Here I am, fourteen hours into the Read-A-Thon, thirteen of which have been spent more or less continuously reading, while one was used on some mundane stuff like food and a piece of RL work. I can feel some of the fatigue setting in now, though, so I’ve relocated to a bed, where I will be ready should a nap attack strike.

Before I dive back into the unexpectedly exciting The Ruby in the Smoke (the unexpected element was caused by my having not gotten along with Pullman in the past), I am taking care of the mid-event survey below:

1. What are you reading right now?
The Ruby in the Smoke by Philip Pullman.

2. How many books have you read so far?
Three down, on my fourth one.

3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon?
It’s hard to decide, but probably A Scanner Darkly. I haven’t had any proper science fiction yet.

4. Did you have to make any special arrangements to free up your whole day?
Did I! I spent the last two and a half days working furiously to handle the Monday deadlines that otherwise would’ve been taken care of during the weekend.

5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those?
Not really, no. Most people were aware I was busy today.

6. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far?
The amount of views my blog got! I don’t think I’ll ever top yesterday’s count.

7. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?
For me, everything was perfect, organisation-wise. The hourly updates are encouraging, the mini-challenges fun, and the cheerleaders are awesome!

8. What would you do differently, as a Reader or a Cheerleader, if you were to do this again next year?
As a Reader, I would get more snacks, and remind myself to procure extra milk for my coffee. Also, not scheduling anything on the day following the ‘Thon would’ve been a good idea that couldn’t be pulled off this year, but I can try next time!

9. Are you getting tired yet?
A bit, hence my recent relocation to a place with more pillows.

10. Do you have any tips for other Readers or Cheerleaders, something you think is working well for you that others may not have discovered?
Hmm. I’d say, drink a lot of fluids, especially if you’re in a cold climate – in which case make that warm fluids. Sitting in one place can make you cold very quickly.

And off I go to read until sleep takes me.

4 Comments

Filed under Read-A-Thon

4 responses to “Read-A-Thon – Mid-Event Survey

  1. R! E! A! D!
    Any book that you can see!

    The Sally Lockhart (is that her name??) series by Pullman is way different from the His Dark Materials series, isn’t it? Good plan, being prepared for those nap attacks. Mine would be more like a good night’s sleep attack at this point… I hope you enjoy the rest of your readathon!!

  2. The Ruby and the Smoke is such a great book! I’m glad you’re enjoying it. I went the other way with Pullman and was SO SHOCKED The Golden Compass wasn’t like these! 😀

    Have a lovely nap and wake up refreshed! (And good tip about the water – I totally forgot until a few hours ago and I feel SO MUCH BETTER)

    *\o/*

  3. Ah, Sleep, the enemy of Readathon (and the jitters from too much caffeine consumed)!

    You’re eyes are sleepy,
    but your fingers keep turning,
    I’ll supply the cheer,
    to keep your readathon fire burning!

  4. Rosie

    I liked the advice

Leave a Reply

