Ready When You Are

A philosophically nostalgic state at what feels to me like the end of the Killjoy era made me revisit this piece of almost a year ago. I read it again now, and find that it still rings true. The title and the recurring sentiment is a lyric from the song Save Yourself, I’ll Hold Them Back by (unsurprisingly) My Chemical Romance.


Ready when you are.

How do you know when I’m ready?

Ready when you are-

and then your foot’s on the pedal, and both of mine are still standing in the dust.

Ready when… when?

Wait for me. Wait for me. Wait for me!

I don’t have a car. I can’t catch up with you on foot.

Can’t you see you drove off without me?

Can’t you see there’s no one in the passenger seat?

Can’t you see-

Ready when you are…

I’m not ready. Come back to me. Don’t leave me here.

I want. I want, I want, I want, all the time.

Everything.

But I can’t. Not yet. I want to fly, but I’ve barely learned to crawl.

Want. Can’t. Without you.

Dust.

You can’t abandon me. You haven’t. You never will.

You said – ready when you are – and sped off before I was ready.

You taught me how to want things, and left me wondering how to do them.

I need you. You want everything too, but you also can. You know. Sometimes I feel you know everything. Sometimes I feel you know me better than I know myself.

Ready when you are.

Does this mean you know I’m ready before I do?

2 Comments

Filed under Rambles

2 responses to “Ready When You Are

  1. Very mysterious 🙂

    Do you mean ‘the end of the Killjoy era’ to be Gerard dyeing his hair black?! I like to think it’s for Halloween and it’ll be red again for Christmas 😀

    • Thanks! 😀

      It’s not just about the hair, it’s the fact that they just had the last performance of 2011 and will be working on the new stuff, so while I believe that the Killjoy thing will last as long as the idea of the MCRmy (i.e. forever :D), I think there will be a new era on the horizon soon enough.

Leave a Reply

