Congratulations, Madam, It’s A Novel

Spoilers…

As of two days ago, I’m a proud parent. My firstborn took about seven months to enter this world, and weighs in at around 115 thousand words (a healthy weight, I’m told). Now I get to spend some time getting used to the thought of all this work being D-O-N-E, before I get to all the cleaning, feeding and changing of diapers, also known as the process of editing. I have already downloaded a trial version of Scrivener and am looking forward to indulging my mild OCD by organising chapters, notes, drafts, and miscellaneous delightful verbal junk that has accumulated along the way.

But first, a breather.

We had an interesting run, my novel and I. There were days when I loved it to pieces. There were days when I hated every word that came out from under my pen. There were moments when I had no idea how I was going to write myself and my characters out of the messes we had collectively gotten ourselves into, and even worse moments, when I doubted I could get everyone home safely. There were days when I was scared of it, literally hiding under the blanket and running away to other people’s stories so I didn’t have to think about mine for a while.

The beginning was the most exciting. The middle was the toughest. The ending was the scariest. And then it was done.

A little later I’ll probably pretend to be an experienced author and make a post with a list of things I learned while writing the novel, shamelessly copycatting Chuck Wendig of Terrible Minds, whose lists of most-frequently-25 things I’ve become addicted to. For now, I’ll stay with the emotional response. It took me two days just to become coherent about it in the first place.

This has been exhilarating, terrifying, ecstatic, painful, educational as hell, and the biggest thing I’ve so far done in my life. To everyone who was with me along the way – you know who you are and how important you are. To all my characters – you know we’ve got places to go, and things will only get more exciting. To anyone who may be interested in the finished product – WATCH THIS SPOT.

4 Comments

Filed under Books and Writing, Novel, Writing

4 responses to “Congratulations, Madam, It’s A Novel

  1. Congratulations! I’m looking forward to hearing about the finished product… it might inspire me to finish something longer than 500 words. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Another originally untitled post | Lynn E. O'Connacht

Leave a Reply

