Dewey’s Read-A-Thon 2012 – Gearing Up

Another year, another Read-A-Thon. I’ll be honest with you – it feels like the previous one happened in another lifetime. In a way, I did lead several lives during this past year, many of them in another world and/or time. Geographical and temporal displacement is just another perk of being a writer. Now, the feeling of being caught up in a vortex of your own different lives – that tends to come with having several crazy dreams and trying to run with them all.

My book selections for this year feature a few graphic novels, which should serve as great in-betweeners for larger books, which make up the bulk (I just don’t seem to own small books. Even when comic books are concerned, I tend to pick trade paperbacks.)

Books and Guns.
(This should be the title of a story about a gun-slinging author. DIBS!)

As you can see, or maybe you can’t, considering the resolution, there is some Neil Gaiman there (Neverwhere and two Sandman collections). Continuing in the same vein, there’s some Hellblazer, because you just can’t go wrong with chain-smoking trenchcoat-wearing British exorcists. Then, in a slightly different brand of horror, we have Steven King’s Misery. Deathless, despite the first impression the title might make, is not another horror piece, but fairytale-turned-serious-fantasy. Then there’s the volume with the first two books of my deeply beloved Witcher series by Andrzej Sapkowski, to be re-read the n+1st time, where n approaches infinity. And then we have Gaslight Dogs, the genre of which I can’t easily determine, but I’ve read a few chapters of it before and would definitely like to continue now. And finally, we have Justina Robson’s Selling Out, which, from the summary alone, sounds way too off-the-wall not to try for someone who enjoys sci-fi, post-apocalyptic tales and deeply screwed-up characters.

Thus ends my pile of books. I don’t expect to go through all of them in twenty-four hours, but I’m sure plenty of fun shall be had. Tomorrow promises to be caffeinated.

2 Comments

Filed under Read-A-Thon

2 responses to “Dewey’s Read-A-Thon 2012 – Gearing Up

  1. I have some Gaiman in my pile too but it’s The Graveyard Book. I have a ton of graphic novels in my pile too many to get through in one day! 😉 Happy reading. I’ll come back tomorrow and cheer you on!

  2. Oooh, I see a Neil Gaiman on that stack which I highly recommend. I also like your caffeine stash. I’m limiting myself to coffee and two energy drinks (they make me jittery) and I’ll probably switch to green tea later.
    You’re in the UK, that’s awesome. We’ll get sleepy around the same time, then (I’m in Austria).

Leave a Reply

