Read-A-Thon 2012 – Wrap Up


And so it ends. *DRAMA!*
Cue the ending meme.

1. Which hour was most daunting for you?
That would be number seventeen. Which was when I passed out.

2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?
My general recommendation is – try graphic novels! It’s a great way to relax the eyes after pages and pages of text. If you haven’t read any Sandman – do.

3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?
Every year, I’m useless at this…

4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?
This year, I was more involved in the twitter side of the ‘thon than before, and that made me feel more connected to the Universal Readership Consciousness. Ommmmm….

5. How many books did you read?
Started and finished one large paperback and one graphic novel collection, also made it halfway through another paperback.

6. What were the names of the books you read?
Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman, Sandman vol. 4 – Season of Mists, also by Mr. Gaiman, and halfway through Farewell, My Lovely by Raymond Chandler. Made a start on Selling Out by Justina Robson, but didn’t have the patience to stick with it.

7. Which book did you enjoy most?
Neverwhere, hands down. I’ve read Gaiman’s American Gods before, and concluded that I prefer his writing in shorter form. This book, however, restored my love for his novels.

8. Which did you enjoy least?
I put down Selling Out after two pages, because I felt the author was trying too hard to reel me in. Plus, it being the second book of the series, the first two pages were retelling the first book, and I am allergic to chunks of exposition. I will, however, try it again, because the premise of the book sounds like something I should like (half-human-half-cyborg superagent chick in a post-apocalyptic universe with colliding worlds, magic and technology).

10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?
I think I may like to go and cheer, the next time around! I found myself checking out other people’s blogs more than before, and I think next year, I’ll try my hand at this officially.

Now, my own tally:

Hours spent reading: seventeen
Hours spent sleeping: six
Other use of time: an hour’s walk outside
Pages: 520/book + 200ish/graphic novel
The coolest thing: reading a 370-page book in more-or-less one sitting.
Random squee: I won a mini-challenge by random draw! Now to decide what book to get…

Thanks to everyone for participating and cheering, it’s been a lot of fun, and see you next year, or maybe in April!
xoxoxo

2 Comments

Filed under Read-A-Thon

2 responses to “Read-A-Thon 2012 – Wrap Up

  1. Sounds like you had a great Read-a-thon! I really like how Twitter works to rev up the energy of my read-a-thon — glad that it worked well for you, too.

  2. Good job! And congrats on winning the mini challenge!

    Jane

Leave a Reply

